What I Ate Today

Back at it with another What I Eat in a Day. I’ve been feeling really inspired recently in the most amazing way. I have a feeling of travel homesickness. Which is super weird but also super normal for me. You guys know I love to travel. So these last few weeks of the semester, I’ve really been craving going someplace new. By myself. Just simply to get away and go on an adventure.

I know that’s the most random thing to say on a What I Ate Today blog post. But, part of these is to share what’s in my head, what happened during my week, and this has been my week. Procrastinating with googling cheap flights is my new form of avoiding homework and studying.

BREAKFAST

Processed with VSCO with a1 preset

It’s probably not a surprise that I made another smoothie bowl for breakfast today. This time I did strawberry banana and it was SO good. I’m definitely going to be recreating this one in the future. 

LUNCH

Processed with VSCO with a1 preset

I kept lunch pretty simple today just because I was heading off to work and didn’t really have time to cook anything (like of a college student am I right?). Tomato soup is by far one of my favorite foods and it has become the only food that I can eat every day and not get sick of. I made this yummy one, which is completely vegan and pretty low in sodium for a canned soup. I try to stay away from most processed foods and sometimes soups can be tricky depending on how much sodium they contain. I always look out for MSG and sodium levels when buying soups. This one is pretty good and is definitely a staple for me while I’m away at college. I paired my soup with some yummy whole grain oatmeal bread.

DINNER

NLPNE3597

I made this super yummy quinoa bowl for dinner. Last summer, I literally ate one of these every day. They became my obsession and today I was reminded why. This is the perfect dinner or lunch recipe because it’s super filling and packed full of protein and healthy nutrients. The recipe for it can be found up on my blog and let me know if you try it out!

SNACKS

Fun fact about me: I love mangoes. So much. I think they are the greatest fruit ever and always get everything mango flavored: my tea, my sorbet, my smoothies. I picked up a bag of dried mango from Costco and haven’t been able to put it down since buying it. To be honest, the Costco bag is a little pricey. You can also buy it from Kroger from the self selection isle (where it’s price by pound) and that tends to be a little cheaper. I’m not a huge dried fruit person (besides mango and dates) but I have to give this mango a 10/10.

DESSERT

IMG_0338

Nicecream is my life. 100%. To be honest, I think I prefer it to normal ice cream. It’s so healthy and creamy and healthy!! I made this mango nicecream, which is super easy and yummy. To make: just combine two frozen bananas with a cup of frozen mango into a food processor. Add small amounts of vanilla almond milk when necessary. I topped mine with dairy-free semi-sweet chocolate chips, which add a crunchy texture to the nicecream. Perfect way to end my day.

Have a fabulous week xx

emma

 

Leave a comment